BREAKING: Lanre Tejuoso, Shabba Lafiagi, Isah Misau, Rabiu Kwankwaso Top Lawmakers Who Defected From Ruling Party Today

👤 By Adenike Lucas

FIFTEEN top lawmakers from the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, have announced their decision to leave the party, following recent attack on the NASS by the Executive arm of government.

“After due consultation with our constituents and stakeholders in our constituency,” Lanre Tejuuso – Ogun Central, Lafiagi Shaaba – Kwara North, Barnabas Gemade – Benue North East, Ibrahim Rafiu – Kwara South, Muhammad Shitu Ubali – Jigawa North East, Isa Misau – Bauchi Central, Suleiman Hunkuyi – Kaduna North, Abdullahi Danbaba – Sokoto South, Usman Bayero Nafada – Gombe North, Suleiman Nazif – Bauchi North, Soji Akanbi – Oyo South and Abdul-Aziz Nyako – Adamawa Central have all decided to decamp from the APC to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, following a heavy battle with President Muhammadu Buhari, who they have exposed to have broken the constitution by taking money without approval from the National Assembly.

The representative for Oyo Central Senatorial district, Monsurat Sunmonu on the other hand decamped to the African Democratic Congress, ADC.

The defection means the PDP now has a majority in the NASS Senate.

READ ALSO : Silence Empowers Injustice: Senator Dino Melaye Is TALKING and He Must Be Heard

Nigeria’s President breached the constitution by approving the sum of $462 million without the authorisation of the legislative arm of government.

To withdraw funds from the Excess Crude Account, ECA, the President is mandated to seek approval from the  National Assembly and the 36 state Houses of Assembly.

“No moneys shall be withdrawn from any public fund of the Federation, other than the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the Federation unless the issue of those moneys has been authorised by an Act of the National Assembly,” Section 80 (3) and (4) of the 1999 Constitution reads.

It has also been discovered that the 75-year-old’s regime – which came on the mandate of change, paid $707 million as fuel subsidy without seeking approval from lawmakers.

READ ALSO : BUHARI IMPEACHMENT PETITION : Hundreds Sign Petition To Get President Buhari Impeached

President Buhari, is the first to defeat an incumbent through the ballot in Nigeria.

But, he has since lost many of the good will that brought him into power in 2015.

Critics have warned him not to seek re-election. Among his top critics are members of the NASS Senate.

Of recent, the Executive arm of government, which is headed by the President, has used the police force to “intimidate” lawmakers who have been vocal about his failures.

DENISAURUS News understands that there was a sinister plan to prevent sitting from taking place today, because “some people wanted to prevent people from decamping.”

Some say that it is another attempt to stop vocal lawmakers from talking about the impunity and corruption in the Presidency.

Senator Melaye, who represents Kogi-West has promised never to be “cowed.”

READ ALSO : BREAKING : Senator Calls For President Buhari’s Impeachment Over Approval Of $462 Million Without NASS

The Senate President Bukola Saraki, who himself had a bundle of armed police officers laying siege at his home read the notice of defection at plenary this morning.

Senator Saraki who survived the plot by the Executive to illegally detain him entered the Upper Chamber at 10:40am.

The speaker of the House of Representative, Yakubu Dogara also made an appearance into the legislative complex and he was cheered on by a team of supporters and well wishers (See Video)

READ ALSO : Prosecution Lawyers Can’t Find Evidence Against Saraki So IGP Want To Detain Him Illegally

Meanwhile, DENISAURUS News understands that the Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu is currently under lock down in his home in Abuja.

This paper understands that operative of the Department of State Security Service arrived in his apartment early this morning.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s