Gbajabiamila Wins Race To Become Speaker Of Ninth Assembly

👤 Abdul Tukur, DENISAURUS News

Hakeem Olufemi Gbajabiamila was today elected as the speaker of the ninth assembly, DENISAURUS News can report.

The former leader of the House of Representatives beat Umar Mohammed Bago to replace Yakubu Dogara as the fourth most senior citizen in Nigeria.

President Muhammadu Buhari is the first citizen. The Vice President, Yemi Osibanjo, and the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, come right behind the Nigerian Commander-in-Chief as the second and third in rank.

Honorable Gbajabiamila, 56, a member of the All Progressives Congress, who represents Surulere I Federal Constituency, received 283 out of 360 votes to clinch the position.

The lawmaker who qualified as a lawyer, had the support of the APC leadership from the onset and was set to win the speakership title, despite a challenge from Mr Bago, a lawmaker from Chanchaga in Niger State.

The new speaker received a warm hand shake from his opponent even before the final results were announced.

This show of friendliness from  Honorable Bago was well received by members present in the House.

Honorable Gbajabiamila’s election as the leader of the Federal House of Representatives comes on the day the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan was elected.

READ ALSO : Lawan Elected President Of The Ninth Senate With 78 Votes






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s