BREAKING: Senate Confirms Three Members Of Monetary Policy Committee, Rejects Maidugu’s Nominations

By Danjuma Aliyu

After an embargo placed on nominees due to the Executive’s refusal to replace a corrupt acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, the Senate has today confirmed three members of the Monetary Policy Committee, MPC of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN. 

The senate had previously decided not to confirm any nominees until Ibrahim Mustafa Magu, a perrrenial offender was removed from the EFCC.

Mr Magu, a Deputy Commissioner of Police, who lacks intergrity was indicted by the secret police. Consequently, lawmakers in the upper chamber rejected his nomination in March 2017 and December 2016.

DENISAURUS News exclusively published the indicting report against Mr Magu back in August 2016. Despite his rejection, corrupt Borno born officer remains in office  with the full support of the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo.

The lawmakers in the red chamber requested that the Executive replaced Mr Magu with a credible person. When their request was not meet, they placed a bann on the confirmation of Executive nominations.

A change in the decision to screen and confirmation of the Committee came last week.

Adeola Festus Adenikinju, Aliyu Rafindadi, Robert Chikwendu Asogwa’s nomination were confirmed. However, Asheikh Maidugu was rejected.

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki promised to “revisit” the issue of the MPC member that was rejected when the hoard comes back next week.

Aishah Ahmad was confirmed as Deputy Governor of the CBN.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s