Current Affairs

Lagos Local Election Results

By Abdul Tukur

Local elections were held in Lagos on July 22. Results declared favoured the All Progressives Congress, APC.

APC took the votes in all the 20 Local Government /  37 Local Council Development Areas.

They include the chairmanship for Ejigbo, Ikorodu, Ikorodu West, Surulere, Onigbongbo, Agege, Orile-Agege, Lagos Island, Lagos Island East, Badagry West, Ikeja, Agboyi-Ketu, Ikorodu, Epe, Ikoyi/Obalende, Odi-Olowo/Ojuwoye, Oshodi/Isolo, Badagry Central, Yaba.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Speaking after the elections, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode said: “I am happy that this election is coming at my own time.

“The whole idea is for us to evolve a process where the citizens come out and believe in a process that is credible. When the people see credible election at the local government level, they will be excited to participate because they know that it is credible, peaceful and without violence,” he added.

“That is what we have been preaching. Lagos is too cosmopolitan for us not to have a credible election.”

“We need to enhance democracy in the country and we can only do it by what we are doing today.”

See a breakdown of the results.

Ejigbo LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC – 8,476, PDP – 1,079, LP – 289

Bello Monsuru Oloyede (OBE) of APC declared winne

Ikorodu West LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC 3,068, PDP – 555, LP – 336

Princes Olajumoke Jimbo-Ademefun of APC declared winner

Surulere LGA (Chairman)

  • APC – 8,683, PDP – 1,387, LP – 981

Ajide Yomi Tajudeen of APC declared winner

Onigbongbo LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC – 4,631, LP – 840

Oke Francis Babatunde of APC declared winner

Image may contain: 3 people, crowd and outdoorImage may contain: 2 people, people smiling, text

Lagos Island LGA (Chairman)

  • APC – 14,692, PDP – 925, LP – 1,211

Tijani Adetoyese Olusi of APC declared winner

Badagry West LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC – 5,300, PDP – 935

Bello Joseph of APC declared winner

Ikeja LGA (Chairman)

  • Accord – 338, APC – 6,191, PDP – 990, AD – 70, KOWA – 616

Balogun Mojeed Alabi of APC declared winner

Ikorodu LGA (Chairman)

  •  APC – 5,417, PDP – 3,224, LP – 313

Wasiu Adeshina of APC declared winner

Epe LG (Chairman)

  • APC – 21,541 and LP – 941

Dayo Adesanya of APC declared winner.

Image may contain: 1 person

Ikoyi / Obalende LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC – 7,107, PDP – 756, LP – 542

Fuad Atanda-Lawal (ATL) of APC declared winner


Odiolowo / Ojuwoye LCDA (Chairman)

  • Accord- 5,098, APC- 17,358

Raska Ajala of APC declared winner

Yaba LCDA (Chairman)

  • Accord – 133, APC – 5,361, PDP – 1,171

Omiyalyale Kayode Adejare of APC declared winner

Lagos Island East LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC- 9,060, PDP – 1,128

Kamal Olawale of APC declared winner

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling, people sitting

Igbogbo Bayekun LCDA (Chairman) 

  • APC-

Daini Olusesan Mayokun of APC declared winner

Image may contain: 5 people, people sitting

Oshodi / Isolo LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC- 8, 429, PDP – 3,928.

Shamsudeen Abiodun Olaleye of APC declared winner

Agboyi-Ketu LCDA (Chairman)

  • APC – 10,701 and PDP – 1,759

APC declared winner.





Categories: Current Affairs, Politics

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s