Edo Governorship Elections: Obaseki Declared Winner

👤 Abdul Tukur, DENISAURUS News

The Nigerian electoral commission has declared Governor Godwin Obaseki, the winner of the Edo State Governorship elections.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, stated that Governor Obaseki, a candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, scored 307,955 votes, to defeat his closest rival, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Pastor Ize-Iyamu, despite gaining the support of a former Governor of Edo and a popular chieftain lost his Local Government Area to the incumbent Governor.

Pastor Ize-Iyamu, who is from Orhionmwon LGA, in 2016, lost was the candidate of the PDP, and he lost the election to Governor Obaseki, who at the time was a member of the APC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s